Help e.V. @ FOL

Help: Water is life  

Idea: Perspectives out of distress

Life without clean water is hard to imagine for us in Europe. But for millions of people around the world, drinking from dirty streams or stinking puddles where parasites and diseases lurk is part of everyday life. As a result, well over 2,000 children die every day from diarrheal diseases - more than from AIDS, malaria and measles combined.

"Help - Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe" is an international aid organization that provides clean water and hygiene in numerous countries around the world. Following the principle of "help for self-help", Help meets those affected at eye level and helps them to find simple but effective solutions to the water problem.

During the Festival of Lights 2020, "Help - Helping People to Help Themselves" illuminated this vital issue and showed perspectives. So that everyone knows what's going on.

Implementation: Because clean is healthy

Help's light projections provided an illuminating insight into its work. In recent years, numerous wells have been built, latrines constructed and essential hygiene rules established.

Every euro spent on water and sanitation has more than four times the impact by relieving the burden on the health system. For this reason, the Festival of Lights supported the aid organization's efforts with an appeal for donations to all festival visitors in Berlin and the many festival friends on the worldwide web.

Success: Donating health together

Clean water is not a matter of course. This message was well received by festival visitors and friends. There was great interest in the topic and a willingness to donate. There were many clicks on the donation form that the Festival of Lights organizers had placed on their website. Speaking of which, the form is still online. Anyone who wants to donate is cordially invited to do so!

 

en_GBEnglish (UK)

Help: Wasser ist Leben  

Idee: Perspektiven aus der Not

Ein Leben ohne sauberes Wasser ist für uns in Europa schwer vorstellbar. Doch für Millionen Menschen in der Welt gehört es zum Alltag, aus schmutzigen Bächen oder stinkenden Pfützen zu trinken, in denen Parasiten und Krankheiten lauern. Die Folge: Weit über 2.000 Kinder sterben jeden Tag an Durchfallerkrankungen – mehr als an AIDS, Malaria und Masern zusammen.

„Help – Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe“ ist eine internationale Hilfsorganisation, die sich in zahlreichen Ländern der Welt um sauberes Wasser und Hygiene kümmert. Nach dem Prinzip der „Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe“ begegnet Help den Betroffenen auf Augenhöhe und hilft ihnen dabei, einfache, aber wirksame Lösungen für das Wasserproblem zu finden.

Während des Festival of Lights 2020 leuchtete „Help – Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe“ dieses lebenswichtige Thema aus und zeigte Perspektiven auf. Damit alle wissen, was läuft.

Umsetzung: Weil sauber gesund ist

Die Lichtprojektionen von Help gaben einen erhellenden Einblick in die Arbeit. In den letzten Jahren wurden zahlreiche Brunnen gebaut, Latrinen errichtet und essentielle Hygieneregeln aufgestellt.

Jeder Euro, der in Wasser und Sanitäranlagen fließt, entfaltet mehr als die vierfache Wirkung durch eine Entlastung des Gesundheitssystems. Aus diesem Grund unterstützte das Festival of Lights den Einsatz der Hilfsorganisation mit einem Spendenaufruf an alle Festivalbesucher in Berlin und die vielen Festivalfreunde im weltweiten Netz.

Erfolg: Gemeinsam Gesundheit spenden

Sauberes Wasser ist nicht selbstverständlich. Bei den Festivalbesuchern und – freunden kam diese Botschaft an. Das Interesse am Thema und die Spendenbereitschaft war groß. Es gab viele Klicks auf das Spendenformular, das die Festival of Lights-Organisatoren auf ihre Website gestellt hatten. Apropos: Das Formular ist immer noch online. Wer spenden will, der ist herzlich eingeladen!