Brandenburg Gate ◆ presented by Gilde Heimbau

At home in the Brandenburg Gate?

Task: Bringing out an everyday topic on the big “screen”
The United Nations declared 2012 to be the International Year of Cooperatives and especially in Berlin housing cooperatives have a long tradition. Against this background, the FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS team, in cooperation with 22 Berlin housing cooperatives, set the topic where nobody would imagine it. The Brandenburg Gate visually became the home of cooperative life.

Idea: Cooperative life as an eye-catcher
The success of this campaign lay in the contrast of content and stage. On one side the big symbolic gate, on the other side the small comfortable world of living. Our show brought both sides together and aroused massive attention. The Brandenburg Gate turned into a residential building, behind the windows, the lights went on and you could see the busy life behind them.

Implementation: Unspectacular spectacular
Actually, it was unspectacular images of real house fronts, windows, balconies, front doors that stood for cooperative life. In many neighbourhoods, these houses shape the image of Berlin, but at the Brandenburg Gate they suddenly played a spectacular lead role. The 3D video mapping show was shown every 10 minutes for 10 evenings. Culminating in 300 shows, each time with the logo of the cooperatives and hundreds of thousands of viewers looking at it.

Result: offensive for cooperative life
The cooperatives used the event to massively promote their idea. Every evening there were incentives for tenants, press and multipliers. Extensive marketing and media measures have attracted a lot of public attention. In addition, specific conferences and meetings were put into the festival time in order to discuss the cooperative idea in detail.

Partner:  Community action of the cooperatives
Gilde Heimbau as a representative of 22 Berlin housing cooperatives

Brandenburger Tor ◆ präsentiert von Gilde Heimbau

Zuhause im Brandenburger Tor?

Aufgabe: Alltägliches Thema groß herausbringen
Die Vereinten Nationen hatten 2012 zum Internationalen Jahr der Genossenschaften erklärt und speziell in Berlin haben die Wohnungsbaugenossenschaften eine lange Tradition. Vor diesem Hintergrund ließ das FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS Team in Kooperation mit 22 Berliner Wohnungsbaugenossenschaften das Thema dort einziehen, wo es niemand vermuten würde. Das Brandenburger Tor wurde visuell zum Zuhause für genossenschaftliches Leben.

Idee: Genossenschaftliches Leben als Hingucker
Der Erfolg lag im Kontrast. Auf der einen Seite das große symbolträchtige Tor, auf der anderen Seite die kleine behagliche Welt des Wohnens. Unsere Show brachte beide Seiten zusammen und weckte damit massiv Aufmerksamkeit. Das Brandenburger Tor verwandelte sich in ein Wohnhaus, hinter den Fenstern gingen die Lichter an und man konnte das rege Leben dahinter erkennen.

Umsetzung: Unspektakulär spektakulär
Eigentlich waren es unspektakuläre Bilder von realen Häuserfronten, Fenstern, Balkonen, Haustüren, die stellvertretend für genossenschaftliches Leben standen. In vielen Vierteln prägen diese Häuser das Bild Berlins, aber auf dem Brandenburger Tor spielten sie plötzlich eine spektakuläre Hauptrolle.Die 3D-Video-Mapping-Show wurde 10 Abende lang alle 10 Minuten gezeigt. Das waren 300 Durchgänge, jedes Mal mit eingeblendetem Logo der Genossenschaften und hunderttausende Zuschauer haben hingeschaut.

Ergebnis: Offensive für das genossenschaftliche Leben
Die Genossenschaften nutzten das Ereignis, um massiv für ihre Idee zu werben. Jeden Abend gab es Incentives für Mieter, Presse und Multiplikatoren. Umfangreiche Marketing- und Medienmaßnahmen erreichten eine breite öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit. Zudem wurden gezielt Konferenzen und Treffen in die Festivalzeit gelegt, um die genossenschaftliche Idee eingehend zu diskutieren.

Partner:  Gemeinschaftsaktion der Genossenschaften
Gilde Heimbau als Vertretung von 22 Berliner Wohnungsbaugenossenschaften