Berlin Campaign ◆ presented by State of Berlin

 

A new brand for the state of Berlin

Idea: Campaign and new logo in the light

As every year, Berlin's architectural landmarks were in the spotlight at the 2020 FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS. But this year, another landmark took the spotlight at the Festival: the new brand logo for the city of Berlin. The logo draws on the city's best-known symbol: the Berlin bear. In the future, the bear will adorn Berlin's entire image presence, from its website to its image ads.

in September 2020, all of Berlin should get to know the new brand design. Therefore, the FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS made the premiere of the bear brand with the associated hashtag #WirSindEinBerlin the highlight of a luminous, emotional roadshow.

Implementation: strapping tour through the districts.

"The logo should shine where it belongs - in the neighborhoods, with the citizens," is how Senate spokeswoman Melanie Reinsch explained the idea behind the tour. After the grand premiere with a spectacular 3D video mapping on the Red City Hall and with the Governing Mayor Michael Müller, the bear tour started across the city.

The new logo made its inaugural visit to the districts and introduced itself to Berliners at local landmarks with an impressive projection: Post Bridge in Reinickendorf, Spandau City Hall, Schöneberg City Hall, Tchoban Foundation building in Pankow, Charlottenburg City Hall, Neukölln City Hall, Theater an der Parkaue in Lichtenberg, Steglitz City Hall, Oberbaum Bridge in Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg, Köpenick Palace and Marzahn District Museum. For the final on the Oberbaumbrücke, bear designs from citizens were even integrated.

Success: Known overnight

A new Berlin logo is not presented every day. The previous logo "be Berlin" remained in image use for 12 years after all. Therefore, the brand launch was a special event for the city.

The tour showed the new design close to the citizens and with a high reach in the real living environment. It was a visible counterpoint in the cityscape to the virtual launch on the Internet and social media. People stopped everywhere, looked enthusiastically, examined and discussed the new logo. The new brand became the talk of the town overnight. The Festival of Lights team is happy and proud of the luminous premiere and the success!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

en_GBEnglish (UK)

Eine neue Marke für das Land Berlin

Idee: Kampagne und neues Logo im Licht

Wie jedes Jahr standen beim Festival of Lights auch 2020 die architektonischen Wahrzeichen Berlins im Scheinwerferlicht. Aber dieses Jahr rückte noch ein weiteres Wahrzeichen in den Blickpunkt des Lichterfests: das nagelneue Markenlogo der Stadt Berlin. Das Logo greift auf das bekannteste Symbol der Stadt zurück: den Berliner Bären. Der Bär wird zukünftig den gesamten Imageauftritt Berlins von der Internetseite bis zur Imageanzeige zieren.

Im September 2020 sollte ganz Berlin das neue Brand Design kennenlernen. Deshalb machte das Festival of Lights die Premiere des Bären-Brands mit dem dazugehörigen Hashtag      #WirSindEinBerlin zum Highlight einer leuchtenden, emotionalen Roadshow.   

Umsetzung: Bärenstarke Tour durch die Bezirke

„Das Logo soll dort erstrahlen, wo es hingehört – in den Kiezen, bei den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern“, so erklärte Senatssprecherin Melanie Reinsch die Idee der Tour. Nach der großen Premiere mit einem spektakulären 3D Videomapping auf dem Roten Rathaus mit dem Regierenden Bürgermeister Michael Müller startete die Bärentour quer durch die Stadt.

Das neue Logo machte seinen Antrittsbesuch in den Bezirken und stellte sich den Berlinerinnen und Berlinern an lokalen Wahrzeichen mit einer eindrucksvollen Projektion vor: Postbrücke in Reinickendorf, Rathaus Spandau, Rathaus Schöneberg, Gebäude der Tchoban Foundation in Pankow, Rathaus Charlottenburg, Rathaus Neukölln, Theater an der Parkaue in Lichtenberg, Rathaus Steglitz, Oberbaumbrücke in Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg, Schloss Köpenick und Bezirksmuseum Marzahn. Zum Finale auf der Oberbaumbrücke wurden sogar Bärendesigns von Bürgern integriert. 

Erfolg: Übernacht bekannt

Ein neues Berlin-Logo wird nicht alle Tage präsentiert. Das vorangegangene Logo „be Berlin“ blieb immerhin 12 Jahre im Image-Einsatz. Daher war der Brand Launch für die Stadt ein besonderes Ereignis.

Die Tour zeigte das neue Design bürgernah und mit hoher Reichweite im realen Lebensumfeld. Sie verstand sich als im Stadtbild sichtbarer Kontrapunkt zum virtuellen Start in Internet und Social Media. Überall blieben die Leute stehen, schauten begeistert, begutachteten und diskutierten das neue Logo. Die neue Marke wurde Übernacht zum Berlingespräch. Das Festival of Lights Team freut sich und ist stolz auf die leuchtende Premiere und den Erfolg!